2011 – great year or greatest year?

10Jan11

Well, 10 days into the new year and it’s all rather average. I’ve cooked some decent recipes, had a couple of runs and tinkered around with building a website (still no go on that – easy to build the bugger; harder to make it look awesome).

Most of the time though is taken up with pitching for work, which is guaranteed to destroy the soul. I kick off each day with a steely determination and a full mug of the steaming, and by lunch I’m bored out of my tiny little mind. Pretty unsatisfactory stuff.

So: Plan B. My resolution this year is to do more stand-up. I did a few gigs in December and they went alright (some good, some bad, but I don’t think it really counts as ‘dying’ unless you don’t enjoy it. I loved all of my gigs, even the ones where I was met with silence, bemusement and pity).

In fact, the feedback I’ve received is that stage-wise I’m good news; I just need more actual jokes, rather than bizarre banter with the audience. Leave the conversations to the compere, you fool; just concentrate on saying something funny.

So from now on, that’s what I’ll do; a couple of hours of work applications, and then more fun extra-curricular stuff later on. More interviews, more podcasts, more actual joke-writing.

And more stand-up. Everyone’s got to start somewhere, and from listening to the Marsha Meets podcasts (highly recommended if you like comedy), it seems most comics had a couple of false starts before getting into their rhythm; you’ve just to get on stage and keep on doing it.

‘How does this affect me?’ I hear the 12 of you who read this thing ask.

Well, basically, I’m flagging up a potential change of tone here. Still plenty of play stuff, but I’m going to try to jam in more interviews and videos and things like that as well.

So I’d love it if you’ve got any thoughts, comments or suggestions. Good or bad, they’re always appreciated.

Oh, and I’m going to be at the London Bloggers’ Meetup tomorrow. If anyone’s going, be sure to give me a shout and join me for a beer. I’m a short white dude with specs. In fact I look like a slightly less smug version of this:

One Response to “2011 – great year or greatest year?”

  1. 1 Charm

    yay! more comedy stuff please dan! C.


Leave a Reply

