Abandoman

28Apr10

Good Lord Almighty! Last night I think I saw one of the best comedy gigs of my entire life!

Abandoman were the act. They’re an improv hip-hop comedy group with Rob Broderick as the rapper. Not an obvious rapping sort: a white, smartly dressed Irish bloke, but by heavens he was good; genuinely one of the most innovative things I’ve seen on stage.

The format is similar to your average improv gig, with the performance based on suggestions from the audience. But the man is a phenomenal rapper and he just spills out dextrous wordplay seemingly without a second thought.It’s really really funny and amazingly clever. I cannot recommend them enough, and I will certainly go again.

(You can check out their stuff on the web, but seriously, seeing them live was a rush. They’re bloody mesmeric!)

In other news, my tune of the moment is Love Juice (Danger Remix), by SymbolOne. I cannot stop bodypopping when I hear it.

No Responses Yet to “Abandoman”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

