Magic

21Jan10

OK, not a post about play or games, per se, but just a quick thought about magic.

I love magic. I don’t believe in all the hocus pocus, and of course I know it’s all bullshit. But I’m fascinated by the skill and wordplay needed to do it well. (I’ve never done it myself, but I wrote my undergraduate thesis on Apuleius, and one of my first journo assignments was interviewing someone from the Magic Circle.)

So I’m chuffed to have come across link to a radio show about magic on Resonance FM. It aired over the summer, but is available as a stack of podcasts, and features some interesting folk (including Richard Wiseman and Paul Daniels).

Also, Jerry Sadowitz, who’s one of the finest magicians and comics around, is performing at the Leicester Square Theatre at the moment. If you get the chance, go. You will be offended and amazed in equal measure.

P.S. Sorry for the crapness and infrequency of recent posts; I’ve been busy and ill. I’ll try to pick up the pace soon.

No Responses Yet to “Magic”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

