Best Wodehouse quote?

23Oct09

Lots of good stuff going on this weekend, so I’ll try to contain my feverish excitement and space them out over a few posts.

First up is Plum Idol. Now it’s not an overstatement to say that P.G. Wodehouse is the greatest writer in the English language. Not just the best comic writer, but the best writer full stop. So here’s a chance to pick your favourite Plum quotes from a batch of 10.  In the process you can pick up prizes in the form of booze, books or lunch with Nicolas Soames (I’m not sure how desperate you are for lunch with Nicolas Soames, but it’s there if you want it).

I have to say I’m pretty surprised by the choices. Though crackers all, these aren’t the 10 I’d pick if I were offering the best of Wodehouse. I suppose there’s just so much good stuff out there we’re spoilt for choice.

Of those that escaped the list, this is my favourite from a quick google search: “She fitted into my biggest armchair as if it had been built round her by someone who knew they were wearing armchairs tight about the hips that season.” But I’m sure there are even better ones if I go back to the books. There’s a line about Gussie Fink-Nottle that once made me laugh so hard I had to lie down for 20 minutes. You don’t get that with Salman Rushdie.

No Responses Yet to “Best Wodehouse quote?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

